Customer reviews for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife

Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife

Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife : The Victorinox chef's knife is the essential cutlery that works morning to night. With a lightweight razor-sharp blade and nonslip handle, this knife minces, dices or chops vegetables or fruits, without hand fatigue. Slight curve of the blade edge allows precision slicing of meat, without tearing. This large kitchen knife is conically ground throughout the length and depth of the blade for razor-edge sharpness that performs with quickness and precision. With Rockwell hardness of 56, the blade is beautifully balanced and perfectly weighted for ease in handling. Precision-stamped from high-carbon stainless-steel, the Victorinox chef's knife undergoes a special ice-tempering process to create an edge that can be sharpened throughout the lifetime of the blade. Laser-tested for optimal cutting power and bolster-less, Victorinox knives enable cutting with the entire length of the blade. Ergonomic handle with textured surface ensures a comfortable, nonslip grip. Hand-finished by skilled craftsmen in Switzerland, this Victorinox knife works so efficiently, it is utilized by professional chefs in five-star restaurants. Lifetime manufacturer warranty. Dishwasher-safe. Victorinox knives have been expertly crafted in Switzerland since 1884. Lightweight to prevent hand fatigue and world renown for quality-edge retention of the blade, Victorinox knives are top rated by leading consumer magazines. Product Features Slices fast and quick, with a razor-sharp edge and patented nonslip grip to prevent hand fatigue Precision blade dices, minces, chops or slices vegetables and fruits effortlessly Efficiently slices meat, without tearing Blade with Rockwell hardness of 56 is beautifully balanced and perfectly weighted for ease in handling Blade is conically ground throughout the length and depth for razor-edge sharpness and retention, without resistance Special ice-tempering process creates an edge that can be resharpened throughout the lifetime of the blade Precision-stamped, high-carbon stainless-steel for enduring performance Laser-tested for optimal cutting power and bolster-less, allowing use of entire blade Ergonomic handle with textured surface provides a comfortable nonslip grip Swiss-manufactured with the same high-quality standards of the Original Swiss Army Knife Victorinox maintains standards of excellence in the manufacturing of cutlery, earning the highest respect from professional and home chefs for quality knives
Overall rating:
4.938 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
32 out of 32(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So great we bought a second!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
KarZ001
fromFlorence, CO
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
A few years ago we bought a set of Victorinox knives and were very pleased with them. But when there were two of us chopping in the kitchen we needed another chef's knife, so we decided to just buy a second "cheapy" to get us by. The Victorinox handles so much better because it is so well balanced, chops more smoothly longer because it holds the sharpness of its fine cutting edge longer before needing to be re-sharpened, and its Fibrox handle provides such a comfortable, firm grip that gives one greater confidence in using it, that we finally decided to just break down and buy another "real" chef's knife - another Victorinox. We love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent well balanced kitchen knife

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Kat33
fromLos Gatos, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is not razor thin, but sturdy and sharp, perfect for an all use knife.
My Favorite Brandseveral
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kitchen Tool

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Jackie1
fromBerwick, PA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
We enjoy cooking for ourselves, family and friends which requires a lot of slicing, dicing, and chopping. We have found the Victorinox Chef's Knife to be up to the job. Easy to handle (comfortable) and holds a keen edge even after a lot of use.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great knife.

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Jimmy56
fromDecatur, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I do a lot of kitchen work and there is one thing that is very essential in the kitchen. A sharp knife. Very well balanced and has a good feel in your hand. The cost is about half of what it is for knives that claim to be the best. We have purchased this knife for other family members and they love it.
My Favorite BrandVictoronix
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite knife

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromApache Junction, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I have had many kitchen knives during my lifetime, different brands, at reasonable prices. They often needed to be sharpened .
The Victorinox knife was listed as an ideal kitchen tool in the COOKS magazine. It compared to others that sold for three times the price. It is super sharp and makes your preparations a real joy.
My Favorite BrandVictorinox
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Victorinox Chefs Knife

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Perfect
fromMidwest
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Best chef knife I have ever used. Light weight and easy to handle. Very affordable. I would highly recommend the knife. Cooks's Illustrated rated it as the best chef knife available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I have experienced

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Peaches80
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This knife makes all my cutting jobs easier. I wish I had known earlier that a knife this price would give me these results. Thinking of expanding the collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My best knife ever!!

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Sally1
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Can't believe that a knife at this price can perform so well. I didn't realize how dull my old knife was until I bought this one. One of my best purchases for the kitchen.
My Favorite BrandKitchen aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine chef's knife

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
meditatingchef
fromMarin County, CA, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This knife is exactly as advertised.
It is a fine, very sharp knife that is comfortable in my hand and holds and edge well.
I would strongly recommend it for anyone who doesn't have (or want) $150+ to spend on a good chef's knife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

makes my cutting easier

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMassachusetts, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Excellent knife, cuts butternut squash so much easier than before, use to hate that job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work horse of the kitchen

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Pennywise
fromMesa, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This is the 4th knife I have bought. I gave the other 3 away as gifts and finally got to keep the last for myself. It is excellent and keeps a sharp edge the longest of any of my other knives. I highly recommend this 8" knife
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
taboulifan
fromGrand Terrace, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I like the feel of this knife in my hand. I purchased it based on an America's Test Kitchen review, and am not disappointed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly sharp

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer avatar
99bonk
fromVermont
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This knife has always been recommended by Cook's Illustrated as the best value for money. I heartily agree - it is wonderfully sharp and comfortable in the hand.
Very good value at the sale price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my husbands best knife

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
silver711
fromDewey, Prescott Valley, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
he says that it is very sharp and cuts straight without a curve
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely wonderful knife!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
TysNana
fromYreka, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I read about this knife in one of my "Consumer" type magazines. It was touted as one of the finest knives for the money. I must say that it far surpassed my high expectations. This knife is so sharp, it makes more of an incision - like a surgical instrument. Wow! It makes my cutting and chopping tasks a real pleasure. Everyone really should give this knife a try. It is sharper than my much more expensive knives.
My Favorite BrandEmeril Lagasse
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite knife

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Tessy
fromWausau, WI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
TheVictorinox chef knife is well balanced, has a good grip which fits many hand sizes and does not tire the hand. The knife is very sharp, and does a very good job chopping and dicing anything from parsley to melons. Compares very favorably with many pricier brands.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Too large

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer avatar
goth0100
fromWyoming
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
I'm enjoying using my new Victorinox Chef's knife. My only complaint would be the size. I was expecting something with a smaller blade. In all other aspects, this is a great knife for a small price.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this knife!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer avatar
JazzieBudster
fromSacramento, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
My husband (chef of the house) purchased this knife several years ago. His brother was visiting (also the home chef) and was impressed with it also. So this purchase was a birthday present his brother.
Love this knife - such a great value for the price!!
My Favorite Brand??
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Knife

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer avatar
chefgene1
fromFL
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Well balanced, good grip and sturdy blade make this an excellent choice. Holds an edge very well, I would even compare it as equal to my Wusthof Chefs Knife and for a LOT less money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fabulous Kitchen Tool

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromAustin, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
The Victorinox Chef's knife is clearly superior in every aspect. It has a very comfortable, well-balanced and non slip handle. The blade is superb and it stays sharp.
It is an excellent all around knife for most cooking needs. It is a precision tool that makes slicing, chopping, and trimming both precise and trouble free.
I learned it may soon be available only commercially. I am stocking up for reserves and to give as gifts.
I will only buy Victorinox knives in the future. This is a superb product that you will wish you purchased earlier, and it is a great value!
My Favorite BrandKitchen aid appliances
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>