Customer reviews for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer

Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer

Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer : The stepdown probe on this Taylor thermometer is recommended by FDA to monitor temperature of poultry, beef, pork, lamb or fish precisely. Sensor on probe tip allows accurate roasting, grilling, braising and broiling. Precision 1.5mm Dia. stainless-steel probe tip with minimal puncture ensures retention of juices and moistness within meat. The probe on this cooking thermometer is 2 3/4"L to easily reach interior. Accurate within +/- 1.8 degrees to monitor cooking progress, this thermometer features a full temperature range of -40 F to +450 F to check prime rib or turkey in the oven, steaks on the grill or salmon in a smoker. Response time is 6 seconds or less, with 1 second updates. Slim profile, digital pen thermometer is compact to fit inside a pocket. Hold function maintains current temperature reading after probe is removed from food. Min/Max temperature recall, and LCD readout for easy viewing. F/C selectable. Recalibration function to maintain accuracy. On/off button and auto shutoff to conserve battery life. Safe-T-Guard antimicrobial sleeve. NSF*-listed. Cell battery, included. Waterproof and dishwasher-safe. *The National Sanitation Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit organization that employs stringent sanitation standards in evaluating food equipment for commercial use. Product Features Compact pen-style thermometer features sensor on probe tip for accurate roasting, grilling, braising and broiling Probe is FDA approved to gauge temperature of poultry, beef, pork, lamb or fish Minimal puncture to retain juices and moistness in meat Accurate within +/- 1.8 degrees to closely monitor cooking progress Temperature range: -40 to +450 F (-40 to +300 C) Response time: 6 seconds or less, with 1-second updates Temperature hold button Min/Max temperature recall Easy-view LCD readout F/C selectable button Pre-calibrated and easy to recalibrate or set to default calibration On/off button and auto shutoff Antimicrobial sleeve NSF-listed
Overall rating:
3.893 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
20 out of 28(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Review 1 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Indispensable Kitchen Thermometer!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Kabob82
fromReno, NV
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I bought 2 of these thermometers - one to hold ready to step in when my present thermometer gives up the ghost, and one to give as a birthday present to my daughter. I use this to test the doneness of meats and breads, and I use it to test the liquid I'm about to add to bread recepes. I Love It.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Digital Pen Thermomometer

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Therm195
fromMorris County, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
Sharp and accurate. I have not used it yet, my Wife has.
My Favorite BrandGood Grips
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Digital Thermometer

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Focus21
fromRoanoke, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
I'm a senior citizen (mid 70s) and I find the LED on the thermometer to small.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer - silver Item

PostedMay 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Teentwo
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
It's a good thermometer. Love the fact that it won't stop working if I drop it in the dishwater. The protective cover for storage is nice a sturdy too.
My Favorite BrandI don't have a favorite. I buy what I like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Taylor Pen Themometer

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Sepp
fromGardnerville, NV
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Used this thermometer for the first time to make a prime rib roast. The roast turned out just as I wanted it The temp readings were right on the money. Thermometer is easy to use and is accurate. A good buy at a fair price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right sized

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Hickory1
fromStafford, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
The tip of the thermometer is ideal for checking sautéed meats to insure proper cooling. The clip on the instrument keeps it handy for use. My new favorite tool in the kitchen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bang for the buck!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Customer avatar
EnvoyEd03
fromPhiladelphia, PA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Does exactly what I had intended it for. I make bread weekly and wanted to get my water at to the optimum temp for yeast activity. I still haven't used it in checking meat for doneness, but I know it will do this well also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to use

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Alice0213
fromFlorissant, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Registers quickly. Cleans easy.
My Favorite BrandBetty Crocker
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Bob522
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
This product is going back.. Very difficult to read the
thermometer the numbers need to be larger or a backlight would help. The Taylor products are great its that on this one to small.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the best thermomemter

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
aloc
fromBaltimore, MD, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am disappointed with this pen thermometer. It is a dull grey and not easy to find in my tool drawer. The button to turn on and off is very small and not easy to push in. The numbers are not that easy to read. It is an adequate tool but I would not purchase again. However, I was loathe to spend $100 on a more expensive model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Never used one before

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
dennis119
fromKerrville, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I don't know how I managed without this device. It is small and very convenient to use. It seems to be very accurate for the price and size.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good price.

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
GMAN33139
fromMiami, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
The price is great considering I go through 3 or 4 a year.
My Favorite BrandHeinkle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
greyrep
fromRinggold, GA 30736, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ellie Krieger
This is a really fast instant read thermometer. I was surprised at how fast it was. Just love it, and just the thing I needed.
My Favorite BrandN/A
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Digital Thermometer

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
pvr34
fromCotuit, Barnstable, MA 02635, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
The thermometer did not work. Dead battery! Battery should be packed separately or an insulating strip added if it is in place.
My Favorite Brandcheerios
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Jill1119
fromWashington, DC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I was eager to replace my digital meat thermometer, which died because the screw-off battery cover was worn out. The Chef's one arrived, and I followed the directions - did not work at first, so I screwed off the cap to take out and replace the battery (as directed). Hmmm coin began to warp the screw slot. Replacing the battery still did not make it turn on. I took it to a nearby electronics place to check the battery. The guy again undid the battery cover - again it warped more, and alas, the battery was at fault. By now the battery cover was unusable! Not a well made product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work.

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
BecomingAbetterCook
fromRedmond, WA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tried turning it on. Nothing. I took out the battery, examined it, and put it back in as it was originally put in the thermometer. It did not work.
Just to be extra sure, I took out the battery, turned it over and tried again. Nothing.
I did not know if it was a dead battery or a non-working thermometer.
I am sending it back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for every kitchen

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Kabob82
fromReno, NV
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I purchased 2 of these thermometers - one for me and one for my daughter. I have been using a thermoneter such a this to test the doneness of meat and breads for years, and I would be lost without it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly designed

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
ciocio
fromBoxford, MA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I thought I was replacing the CDN instant thermometer that I had used for many years with a similar one. The item I received was not designed well, the sleeve cap did not fit, the print was very tiny and hard to read,and the length was shorter than my old one. The on/off button turned the thermometer on but not off. The thermometer turned itself off after several minutes thereby using up battery life. I returned it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Necessary equipment

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
LeeSnow
fromLincoln University, PA 19352, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
The Taylor Thermometer is easy to use, accurate and a necessity for properly cooked meets. I found the unit to be a very good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what I wanted!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fatcat70
fromEllensburg, WA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This was a replacement for a digital thermometer that was 30 years old that experienced a "melt-down" after accidently being left in a roast. I found it to be a good price for a pen style oven thermometer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>