Customer reviews for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer

Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer

Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer : The stepdown probe on this Taylor thermometer is recommended by FDA to monitor temperature of poultry, beef, pork, lamb or fish precisely. Sensor on probe tip allows accurate roasting, grilling, braising and broiling. Precision 1.5mm Dia. stainless-steel probe tip with minimal puncture ensures retention of juices and moistness within meat. The probe on this cooking thermometer is 2 3/4"L to easily reach interior. Accurate within +/- 1.8 degrees to monitor cooking progress, this thermometer features a full temperature range of -40 F to +450 F to check prime rib or turkey in the oven, steaks on the grill or salmon in a smoker. Response time is 6 seconds or less, with 1 second updates. Slim profile, digital pen thermometer is compact to fit inside a pocket. Hold function maintains current temperature reading after probe is removed from food. Min/Max temperature recall, and LCD readout for easy viewing. F/C selectable. Recalibration function to maintain accuracy. On/off button and auto shutoff to conserve battery life. Safe-T-Guard antimicrobial sleeve. NSF*-listed. Cell battery, included. Waterproof and dishwasher-safe. *The National Sanitation Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit organization that employs stringent sanitation standards in evaluating food equipment for commercial use. This item is currently out of stock. The next availability date is estimated to be January 5, 2015. We apologize for the inconvenience. Product Features Compact pen-style thermometer features sensor on probe tip for accurate roasting, grilling, braising and broiling Probe is FDA approved to gauge temperature of poultry, beef, pork, lamb or fish Minimal puncture to retain juices and moistness in meat Accurate within +/- 1.8 degrees to closely monitor cooking progress Temperature range: -40 to +450 F (-40 to +300 C) Response time: 6 seconds or less, with 1-second updates Temperature hold button Min/Max temperature recall Easy-view LCD readout F/C selectable button Pre-calibrated and easy to recalibrate or set to default calibration On/off button and auto shutoff Antimicrobial sleeve NSF-listed
Overall rating:
3.461 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
8 out of 13(62%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Review 1 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Indispensable Kitchen Thermometer!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Kabob82
fromReno, NV
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I bought 2 of these thermometers - one to hold ready to step in when my present thermometer gives up the ghost, and one to give as a birthday present to my daughter. I use this to test the doneness of meats and breads, and I use it to test the liquid I'm about to add to bread recepes. I Love It.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Digital Thermometer

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
pvr34
fromCotuit, Barnstable, MA 02635, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
The thermometer did not work. Dead battery! Battery should be packed separately or an insulating strip added if it is in place.
My Favorite Brandcheerios
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Jill1119
fromWashington, DC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I was eager to replace my digital meat thermometer, which died because the screw-off battery cover was worn out. The Chef's one arrived, and I followed the directions - did not work at first, so I screwed off the cap to take out and replace the battery (as directed). Hmmm coin began to warp the screw slot. Replacing the battery still did not make it turn on. I took it to a nearby electronics place to check the battery. The guy again undid the battery cover - again it warped more, and alas, the battery was at fault. By now the battery cover was unusable! Not a well made product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work.

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
BecomingAbetterCook
fromRedmond, WA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tried turning it on. Nothing. I took out the battery, examined it, and put it back in as it was originally put in the thermometer. It did not work.
Just to be extra sure, I took out the battery, turned it over and tried again. Nothing.
I did not know if it was a dead battery or a non-working thermometer.
I am sending it back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for every kitchen

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Kabob82
fromReno, NV
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I purchased 2 of these thermometers - one for me and one for my daughter. I have been using a thermoneter such a this to test the doneness of meat and breads for years, and I would be lost without it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly designed

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
ciocio
fromBoxford, MA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I thought I was replacing the CDN instant thermometer that I had used for many years with a similar one. The item I received was not designed well, the sleeve cap did not fit, the print was very tiny and hard to read,and the length was shorter than my old one. The on/off button turned the thermometer on but not off. The thermometer turned itself off after several minutes thereby using up battery life. I returned it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Necessary equipment

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
LeeSnow
fromLincoln University, PA 19352, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
The Taylor Thermometer is easy to use, accurate and a necessity for properly cooked meets. I found the unit to be a very good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what I wanted!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fatcat70
fromEllensburg, WA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This was a replacement for a digital thermometer that was 30 years old that experienced a "melt-down" after accidently being left in a roast. I found it to be a good price for a pen style oven thermometer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Now that the battery is replaced......

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCentral NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Now that the battery is replaced, this pen thermometer is working and should be a good, easy to use item. The thermometer arrived with some other items I ordered, all quite well packed in the box but not compressed against anything. Upon opening and trying to use it, it would not turn on. The battery was dead and had to be replaced at $5.99 plus tax! I felt a return would be just as much of a hassle as getting a new battery, thus I am keeping this thermometer but be aware yours may also arrive with a dead battery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too complicated

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
gowiththeflow1203
fromMassachusetts
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
5 buttons and a tiny digital readout. On/off, and I understand it may be desirable to choose between "c" and "f" (can't spell either). But "hold" and "min/max".... personally I would rather be able to SEE the temperature. It is dishwasher safe. Don't know that i will do that, but at least you can get it wet.
The first one came and didn't work. Returned it and replacement finally arrived. I'll keep it now, but I wish I had ordered something else.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't live without it

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
GinnyMK
fromJohnson City TN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Perfect size, easy to use, indispensible for perfectly cooked meats.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Taylor Digital Pen Thermometer
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 of 2 recommend this product