Customer reviews for CHEFS Fat Separator

CHEFS Fat Separator

CHEFS Fat Separator : CHEFS grease separator lets you enjoy flavorful gravy, without the grease. Works two ways to make straining unhealthy fats foolproof and mess-free. Pour in pan juice, and stainless-steel strainer lid automatically separates fat and particles from broth. Let juice set in separator, and grease rises to the top. Broth flows grease-free from bottom spout. Durable borosilicate is heat safe to pour in juice directly from pan. Safe to use on stove top and heat-safe to 500 F to warm gravy or sauce in the oven or microwave. With easy-read measurements in ounces, cups and milliliters, grease separator cup lets you follow gravy and sauce recipes, and easily add seasoning or thickening ingredients to broth. Smooth, healthy gravy is ready to flavor mashed potatoes, dressing or turkey. Works equally well for straining grease-free broth from beef liquids. Dishwasher-safe. CHEFS signature collection of professional-quality cookware, kitchen tools, bakeware, serveware, dinnerware and more is meticulously crafted and tested to delight the most discerning cook. CHEFS commitment to innovative, functional design is the key to delivering products of exceptional quality, performance and durability for home and professional kitchens. Product Features Borosilicate glass separates broth from grease to serve healthy gravy Heat-safe to pour in juice directly from pan Stainless-steel strainer lid separates fat and food particles from broth, silicone provides a tight fit Let juice set in separator and grease rises to the top Broth flows grease-free from bottom spout Safe to use on stove top and heat-safe to 500 F to warm gravy or sauce in oven or microwave Easy-read measurements in ounces, cups and milliliters to add seasonings Mess-free grease strainer for poultry or beef juice CHEFS signature professional-quality cookware, tools, bakeware, serveware and dinnerware are meticulously crafted and tested, ensuring long-lasting durability and performance in the kitchen
Overall rating:
4.792 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for CHEFS Fat Separator
Review 1 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heat resistant and simple

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Queezle
fromUtah, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I've never bought a fat separator, as the ones I've seen in stores looked unstable with moving parts, and all were plastic. This one, though, is made from lab-grade glass, there are no moving parts, and it does the job.
I have worried that its fragile, but the first day I got this, it got knocked onto the floor twice without breaking. So I think that (a) I got lucky, and (b) its stronger than it looks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

CHEFS Fat Separator

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer avatar
A1B2C3D4E5F6G7H8I9J0
fromSan Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Having trashed several plastic fat separators that were cracked and warped from hot fat, at last I found a glass
one and reasonably priced too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for daily use

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Suzanne7
fromMystic, CT
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I routinely cook for 6-7 people. I tried a 4 cup separator but the diameter was so great that at least on the cheap one I was using, I didn't have enough juices to work in the larger container. I am able to retrieve almost all the pan juices with this because of the smaller size and also the spout is so low. To clean I just squirt a bit of detergent down the spout and run water through it, and that seems to be sufficient.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kitchen user

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
kitchenuser999
fromFlorida, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
this works great I like it in glass the only problem is the glass is a bit thin so you have to be real carful not to bump or clash it against other utensils or any hard surface. I do like the pour spot and the large size and the top has a nice screen that you can use or remove and use it without.
My Favorite Brandthe one that works
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have item for any kitchen

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
ed94
fromCalifornia
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
We always boil the leftover, whole chicken body to make chicken soup and this fat separator makes a lot of inexpensive low fat chicken broth.
My Favorite BrandLand of Lakes
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a must have for every home chef

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
crochetnut
fromAlabama
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I gave one to my grand-daughter -in-law because she'
loves to cook and is always entertaining. She couldnt
find one that was glass in her area. Now she is well
equipped.
My Favorite BrandStore Brands
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something needed.

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Knitty
fromProvidence, RI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I make a lot of soups and have to wait for them to cool off so I can skim the fat off. I have used my fat separator twice and it is so much faster!!!
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I Had This Sooner

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Codfish
fromBoston, MA, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Used this tool to separate grease/fat in the gravy preparation for a short rib dish. No more using a spoon or cooling down process. Simple and efficient! Works great and cleans with ease. Don't know why I waited so long to purchase one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought another One!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
istanbulgirl
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
This Fat Separator is great and I bought another One for a Family member, that should say it all :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works good

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
AzRetiredGuy
fromArizona
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I washed it in the dishwasher and no problem for both the glass container and rubber top. I have put hot bacon grease in it that I cooked on the George Foreman grill. The top holds the grease tray no problem. I look forward to putting chicken or turkey grease in it.
My Favorite BrandThe ones on sale
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chefs Fat Separator

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
elkins20
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I received this product in a good order with no damage. It looks very sturdy and easy to use. I really have not used it yet. Mainly will use when I cook a roast beef or pork roast to make the gravy. After using will update this review.
My Favorite BrandContadina
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fat separator cup

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
nursing6
fromBig Spring, TX 79720, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
works great for separating layers of a liquid containing fat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
istanbulgirl
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
At first I was a bit doubtful about this Model of fat Separator, however after reading a few Reviews, I wanted to give it a try, even-though this one is a bit more expensive than the other Strainer I had seen in the catalogue.
Well, I ordered another one today for someone in my Family, needless to say I love this Fat Separator, great item in the Kitchen, if you do lots of Broth. You can’t go wrong!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my glass gravy separator

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Magnolia
fromMaryland
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I have had my gravy separator for years. I love that it is lab quality glass and I do not need to worry about how hot the juices may be. It is easy to use and makes my gravy healthier and more delicious. I have since bought one for a friend and this year for my daughter. I am envious that since I bought mine a mesh strainer has been added. A great addition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wanted a glass fat separator for a long time.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Teresatmc
fromLittleton, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I have always hated pouring blistering hot juice and fat into a plastic container, therefore I was thrilled when I found this glass one. I haven't used it yet, but am eagerly awaiting that day. The only thing that I don't like about this product is the thinness of the handle. Strong or not, it feels flimsy. Thanks for this addition to my glass kitchen utensils.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easier and healthier gravy

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBrentwood, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my daughter after she admired the one I have at Thanksgiving. She exclaimed that it worked great at separating the juices from the fat and you could easily control the amount of fat used to make a delicious gravy while also adding the pan juices. Works better than any other fat separator and the fact that it's glass is a huge plus.
My Favorite BrandAmy's
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fat Separator

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
purplegranny1948
fromFort Thomas, Kentucky
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
This is a gift for my sister. I already have one and love it. Granted I do not use it that often since I no longer cook the way I used to, but when I do use it, it does exactly what is expected. My sister has drooled over mine for a long time and I was very pleased when I say it offered on you web site. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

CHEFS Fat Separator

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCalif
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I ordered this fat separator because from college chemistry classes I know that borosilicate glass is tough. From the picture in the catalog I was a little bit concerned about the position of the base of the spout. It looked like it was positioned slightly above the bottom of the container, which it is. My concern was that I wasn't going to get the last little bit of juice. It turns out that when you tip the container to pour the juice out the bottom of the spout does become the lowest part of the glass. So it works fine. My main problem with this product is the handle. It is so thin that it is hard to get a good grip. The first time I picked it up with liquid in the cup it twisted in my hand. I had to adopt a creative grip in order to feel comfortable using it. The handle needs improvement. Overall this is a good product. Soups and gravies taste better without all the fat.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad, Staub, J.A. Henckels
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chef's fat seperator

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
rbruhnsen
fromRaymond, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
It worked perfectly. got it in time for turkey dinner. got the bird out of the pan and poured the drippings in the separator let it stand for just a few min., and it was ready for gravy making. loved it !!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CHEFS Fat Separator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GLASS fat separator!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
slowmover
fromPensacola, FL
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This heat-tolerant glass fat separator works beautifully, and beats the plastic competition hands down.
A trifle pricey, but worth the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>