Customer reviews for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack

Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack

Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack : Scientifically designed so pies bake from the center to the outside, eliminating the problem of underdone centers and burnt crusts. The raised chrome-plated rack allows air to circulate for even baking and doubles as a cooling rack. Nonstick drip pan catches any filling that bubbles over. 12 1/4" Dia. Hand wash.
Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
30 out of 31(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Review 1 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

KEEPING A NICE CLEAN OVEN!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
AZBARB
fromScottsdale, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This really works! No peach pie overflowing this time on my clean oven. Nice when you get something that really does what it should!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good invention for serious pie bakers

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Momary67
fromMi
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was impressed that the nifty pie baking combo rack did what the description said. Not only was my fruit pie done in the cener but the juices also did not drip and burn in my oven. GREAT PRODUCT.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pie rack

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Nels123456
fromMichigan, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
excellent product, pies turn out great and it keeps the oven clean of drips and run overs. sturdy other products were flimsy and easily bent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pie baking must have

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
horseaholic
fromTN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
Solved the run over problem and the catch pan wiped clean with a paper towel.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Sael
fromCookeville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I bake a lot of pies & this works. I no longer have problems getting the center of the bottom crust browned.
My Favorite BrandKing Arthur Flour
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good quality materials and construction

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
PieMama
fromMonterey, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I have for years used a cookie sheet to catch the inevitable drippings from my apple pies. And then I have to bust the pie loose from the cookie sheet after it cools a bit. The clean up of the cookie sheet was such a bother that I started using aluminum foil on top of the cookie sheet. This lovely contraption provides an unstuck pie pan and an easily cleanable catch-tray. Great idea! The materials are durable and construction looks to be of good quality. The only downside I've found is that my pumpkin pie crusts don't get cooked on the bottom using the rack. I shifted them back to the pizza stone and get perfect bottom crusts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great addition to my baking

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Downey
fromCornville, AZ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
My pizza and home made apple pies have never been so "completely" baked ever until I used my new nifty pie baking combo rack.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An Amazing Addition to the Kitchen

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
GandJ4ever
fromPueblo, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I Baked 5 pie the day before thanksgiving. # Cherry pies and 2 Pumpkin Pies. I got this product one day before the day I baked these pies. So I used this for all five pies and I worked amazingly. The Cherry Pies did go over but the NIFTY PIE BAKING COMBO RACK & DRIP PAN caught it. It was amazing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I'd had this sooner

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Barbara987
fromMaryland
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
What an idea! No more under baked pie crusts. No more pie filling running over in the oven...the non-stick drip pan catches the drips and is a breeze to clean. And a huge bonus...pizza crust cooks to perfection. Wish I'd had this years ago.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just like Mom's

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNorthern Michigan, Grayling
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
I bake a lot of pies, messy pies to be exact. So when I found the nifty pie baking combo rack I was so excited. My mother still uses her pie rack to this day and I can see why. No more messy oven :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NO MORE SOGGY PIE CRUST

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
LaLa46
fromSimpsonville, SC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I have always had a problem with soggy bottom crusts when making fruit pies--not to mention the drips onto the bottom of the oven. This Thanksgiving I made an apple pie and baked it in the combo rack. It was great! The bottom crust was done perfectly, and any drips were caught in the rack. My guests were very impressed.
My Favorite BrandCHEFS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pie Baking Combo Rack

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
thel11
fromOcean City, MD, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I have a new oven and have only used it one time. It did the job as the crust was even and no spills.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great idea!

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Cindy58
fromNew Jersey
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This rack caught all the juice and therefore saved the oven from mess!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy tool

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Amelia38
fromFremont, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I love my new Pie Baking Combo Rack. I have better pies and no cleanup. It goes right in the dishwasher and I can enjoy the pie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWhitney, NE
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This nifty rack works like a dream. I baked a cabbage pie which is thick in the center but the crust was perfectly done throughout the entire crust. Next project is an apple pie to see how well it catches the spillovers. Can't wait!
My Favorite BrandI don't have just one favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is a new favorite in my kitchen

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromTennessee
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
It does what it is supposed to do and the crust is perfect.
My Favorite Branddon;t have a favorite, but like calafon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromchicago
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
MY only concern was that the pie took longer to bake than the directions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Awful right out of the box

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
tlum
fromMercerville, NJ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This rack purports to solve the age old problem of preventing the inevitable overflows that make a charred sugary mess of your oven while actually improving airflow that other overflow solutions would create.
The airflow is good and pies do bake as, or more, evenly than without this rack.
However, the non-stick coating is of inferior quality, as non-stick coatings go, and, I can't think of a more intense test of a non-stick coating than charred, baked on, pie filling. Well, this coating fails in a big way! My first overflow from an apple pie became permanently welded to the surface. It could not be dissolved, and mechanically cleaning it took the non-stick coating with it, no surprise there.
The other problem with this rack is the lip around the hole in the center. There really isn't much of one, so anything but a simple, small, overflow runs right over it and burns in the bottom of the oven anyway.
That said, I would actually recommend this rack to others with the understanding that it works quite well if you carefully line it with a sheet of aluminum foil, with a turned up edge at the center hole to provide a higher lip to stop larger overflows. With this disposable modification this racks shortcomings can be overcome.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wife's wish list item

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Tashamae
fromMass
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
She loves it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nifty Pie Baking Combo Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pies drip onto this rack

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
barrcity
fromMadison, MS, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Use this rack to catch the drips of your pies when you bake them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>