Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife

Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife

Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife : The heft of a chef's knife is intended to let gravity do most of the work. And because a firm, comfortable grip is essential, choose several knives from a wide variety of sizes that conform to your hand. About Wusthof Classic: Precision-forged blades of Wusthof's own high-carbon, stain-resistant steel alloy, for a lasting edge that is easy to resharpen. Distinctive bolster prevents your hand from slipping onto the blade. Handle is a virtually indestructible composite, buffed by hand for a smooth finish and triple-riveted to the full tang for optimum strength and balance. Dishwasher safe, but hand-washing is recommended. Made in Solingen, Germany.
Overall rating:
4.947 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
76 out of 76(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go to knife

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
puppylove
fromVirgina
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I bought this knife for a gift.. Since I also own the Chef Knife, I know how useful it is.. even after many years of service; the Wustoff keeps it's edge and is used more than any of our other Wustoff knives. A great buy for a lifetime knife.
My Favorite BrandWustoff
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent knives

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer avatar
HawksMom
fromBrevard, NC
I bought these as a wedding gift for others based on my personal experience with the same knives over the past 8 years. They are fine knives, with a good grip and balance, and lasting edge.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Quiltie
fromCoos Bay, Oregon
I have purchased seven different Wusthof knives and absolutely love them. I didn't realize the difference these knives would make in preparing and cooking. I am now purchasing a few knives each Christmas for a daughter and her husband. Her question to her husband was what made the difference in these knives. Answer of course is the steel used and the balance. I love them so much I wanted to share the joy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Knife

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
AmethystKate
fromAllen Park, MI
My grandmother had knives so sharp they could cut you if you looked at them. Ours were always so dull you could hold something in your hand and cut it (toward your hand) with no damage. Then sometime in the '90s, I really splurged on a chef's knife Jacques Pepin was using on a program. It came and it was duller than our knives and it had a burr near the tip. I sent it back.
A couple weeks ago, I couldn't stand our dull knives anymore and decided to try again. Chef's had a Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife on sale, so I decided to try it. All I can say is AWESOME!!! I didn't know a knife could really cut like this one does.
I tried it on a grapefruit and while deciding if I needed to use a special angle, the knife slid through the skin and fruit. Then I sliced 4 tomatoes . . . I couldn't stop myself!! The knife slid through them effortlessly and I stood amazed looking at 1/4" slices that were smooth and perfect.
This knife is on the heavy side, but it is perfectly balanced. An absolute dream to use. I wish I could afford to buy more of their knives, but for now I'm saving so if there's another sale I can get one for my nephew's wife.
P.S. I'm 65 and have been cooking since I was 9.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knives

PostedAugust 21, 2008
Customer avatar
shecooksintx
fromTexas
I've been using my Wusthof Classic (white-handled) knives for about 30 years. The only knives that have needed replacing in all these years is are the paring knives. I keep them sharp using an old Chef's Choice electric sharpening system. There is no discernible wear on the knives after all these years.
Wusthof knives spoil you for any other knives.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first Knife

PostedMarch 20, 2008
Customer avatar
sst301
fromBedford, MA
I bought the 6" Wusthof Classic as a gift to myself after a friend let me try out her Wustof, it was love at first slice. I had been looking for a knife that fit my hand well and had a good balance. This is my favorite knife in my tool kit and I am going to replace all of my work and home knives with Wustofs.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The right tool for the right job

PostedNovember 9, 2007
Customer avatar
Alexandra
fromWest Orange, NJ
I recently purchased the 8" Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife and am quite pleased with it. The size is perfect for my hand and so is the weight. The blade is so sharp that it cuts through the toughest products like butter. I am slowly replacing all knives in my kit with Wusthof knives, they are definitely the best tools for the job and well worth the investment.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little Chef's Knife

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
JoeyG
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This is a Wustof knife and so has all the qualities that rightly make this brand so popular among serious cooks. I have used the 8 inch Chef's knife for many years. This knife, however, has become the "knife of choice" for both my wife and me for most kitchen uses. She especially likes the size and weight, which are perfect for most jobs. I now reserve the larger 8 inch knife for really big chopping jobs.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most useful knife in my kitchen

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
WMyles
fromMontgomery, AL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Just the right size for chopping and mincing. Wide blade allows me to add chopped ingredients straight to the dish. Blade has terrific edge.
My Favorite BrandNone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knife I Have

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
STRUCK1
frompLYMOUTH, mi
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Wusthoff is always good; this size knife is perfect for preparing meals--not too big but big enough to make chopping and cutting easy.
My Favorite BrandApilco
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fabulous knife

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Artbark
fromMaryland, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
This knife is an all-around workhorse. Perfect for all types of tasks, the 4.5-inch blade is the right size for paring and slicing vegetables, the heavy blade makes it great for cutting all types of meat, and it's excellent for cutting up a whole chicken. I love this tool and use it constantly. One of the best kitchen tools I own.,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new knife

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Bear295
fromHouston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This has to be the best quality knife that I have ever had in my kitchen.... I just hope to add more to the collection.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knives Ever!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
LuckersLady
fromOconomowoc, WI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Over 30+ years of cooking for my family, tried many different knives (started with Chicago Cutlery) but hands down the Wusthof Classic knives are the best, expensive, but worth every penny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my new favorite knife

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
twinsmom2001
fromNJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This knife is the perfect 'all-around' knife. It has the best size for most cutting needs.
My Favorite Brandall clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Knife

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
MangiaStrong
fromPeoria, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This is truly an instrument - not just a knife. Perfect in every way - no kitchen should be without one!!!!
My Favorite Branddepends on the product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to knife

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Buttercup45
fromJohns Island, South Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
I love to cook and this knife makes the prep work a breeze.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite Chef's knife

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Jan60
fromLaurel, Maryland
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
Easy to handle, heavy & sharp. I have been collecting various kitchen cutlery knives for many years. It is my experience that the "Wusthof" knife is the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son is a chef and loves this knife

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
ladybug1961
fromGrass Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I bought a 10" chef knife for my son for Christmas. He is a Chef at a local Bistro. The knife was delivered in about a week and he could not wait till Christmas to open it. He has been using it every night at work and loves it. It was great to get him something he could really use. I have been using Wusthof knives for years and would not be happy with any other brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ready to use, great product

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
nvrsrrndr
fromSan Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I needed a good chef's knife and after some quick suggestions I settled on this one. The knife arrived in a box that was slightly over sized. However it was well packed so no worries about damage from shipping.
I took the knife out of the packaging, it looked to be in clean excellent condition (washed it before use still though), then got started right away on cutting tomatoes and green peppers. I was amazed how sharp it was right out of the box. It sliced and chopped perfectly. Better than expected even.
I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a good chef's knife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, I found my favorite knife!!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromManchester, NH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I have been trying different Chef's knives for many years--always wanted a Wusthof. I decided to treat myself to the Wustof Chef knife. What a tremendous difference! I don't know why I waited so long! Great weight and balance. It is and always will be my "go to" knife
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>