Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel

Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel

Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel : Keep your fine knives in optimum condition with this professional steel. The 10" shaft is permanently bonded to the virtually indestructible synthetic handle. Buffed by hand for a comfortable grip, the handle is a virtually indestructible composite triple-riveted to the full tang for optimum strength and balance. Dishwasher safe, but hand-washing is recommended. Made in Solingen, Germany.
Overall rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice addition to my kitchen

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Sandy69
fromRockford, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Brought several Wusthof knives. This will keep these knives sharp.
My Favorite BrandWusthof knives
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No cook should be without this tool.

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Vibs
fromHoboken, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This product is easy to handle. It is lightweight and feels good in your hand. It is easy to keep your knives shap with this tool.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this tool

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
MA55
fromSpokane, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Feels solid - looks great - works well
I especially like the fact that the cardboard sheath it came in has instructions on the correct use of this tool. I've followed the recommendations and have a good sharp knife every time I cook.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT knives

PostedApril 19, 2009
Customer avatar
daje
fromHolly, MI
We have owned the Wusthof Professional 3 rivet knives for about 15 years. These are the best knives ever. Using this sharpening steel on a regular basis keeps the knives sharp and safe. If you can only buy one set of knives, these should be the ones.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for your Knives

PostedOctober 27, 2008
Customer avatar
Stewrt
fromMacomb, Michigan
I have a good friend that is a professional chef, He was impressed when he saw my knife set. I asked him about sharpening and then he showed me how to use my Sharpening Steel.
6 sweeps alternating sides of the blade at 30-45 degrees before you use a knife and you'll never have to get your knives sharpened.
It hones the edge of the blade and shapes it for perfect cutting. Seems to be true. I've had a Wusthof classic set for 5 years and they dont need sharpening and are the best knives in my kitchen.
An essential item to have with a set of good knives.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most excellent

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Good grip, good length and a hook to hang. Does a great job straightening the edge of all your steel knives from Wuesthof. Super hard steels may require another brand of sharpening steel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Physical Satisfaction

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Surfwatcher
fromCalifornia beachfront
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
As everyone knows, sharp knives in the kitchen are a must and beyond that an always appreciated source of pleasure to the careful user. How better to prepare the perfect edge on your knives than with the classic sharpening steel. The physical act of properly stroking knife against steel is invigorating. Even the sound generated is appealing, much like playing a musical instrument. Let those who side with technology use their spinning wheels and fixed stones and suffer the screeching noise, disrupting the harmony and the wah that should prevail in the kitchen. They've probably never stropped a razor either. Enhance your life, use the Wusthof Sharpening Steel and enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love Wusthof

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
scarsollady
fromOregon
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Although there was a mix-up in ordering, I have decided to keep what was shipped (primarily out of necessity), and am very satisfied with what I received. I will do business with this company again, even though it appears they outsource their call centre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpen knives well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
gmcwb
fromPonte Vedra, FL 32082, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This was recommended to me by a neighbor and I looked at quite a few sites before purchase. I feel like this will help me maintain my first set of good knives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
wkitty
fromDover, PA 17315, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
It is a Christmas gift for my husband. I will be able to write a review after the holiday.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Sharpening Steel

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
kaygeelady
fromCypress, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I've used a sharpening steel all of my life (50+ yrs). I traded my good steel some years back with my daughter because it had a blade guard on the handle & hers didn't. I finally had enough of that inferior steel & bought this one. All of my knives & scissors are again very sharp, not so-so sharp. it is wonderful to use with very good balance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic Sharpening Steel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

knifesaver

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
kitchenshe
fromPoint, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
i was going to throw out all my knives. I was not getting a good result from any of my discount store sharpeners. this steel is amazing. it saved my knives from the trash bin.
My Favorite Brandwusthof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.