Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife

Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife

Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife : You'll reach for this size constantly to chop onions, dice potatoes, peel and slice fruits for salads, and mince garlic or herbs. 4 1/2"L blade. About Wusthof Classic: Precision-forged blades of Wusthof's own high-carbon, stain-resistant steel alloy, for a lasting edge that is easy to resharpen. Distinctive bolster prevents your hand from slipping onto the blade. Handle is a virtually indestructible composite, buffed by hand for a smooth finish and triple-riveted to the full tang for optimum strength and balance. Dishwasher safe, but hand-washing is recommended. Made in Solingen, Germany.
Overall rating:
4.944 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Italian4664
fromTN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
The Wostoff paring and utility knives I purchased are wonderful! They are sharp and easy to use. They add more versatility to my knife set and cooking! They are used everyday.
My Favorite BrandSantou and Wostoff
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp cutter

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
zoerose
fromCentral Coast of CA
I purchased this knife as a Christmas stocking stuffer for my hubby. It has a nice weight to it and is comfortable in my hand as well as his. Sharp blade that can be resharpened as needed. I would recommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new utility knife!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRochester, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This knife is of excellent quality and is extremely sharp-- perfect for cutting cheesecakes and brownies, but a good all-purpose knife for just about anything!
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

replacement knife

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Kat12
fromNew Braunfels, TX, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I bought this knife to replace one exactly like it that was lost from my set. I love my Wusthof knives...all of them. This one in particular is used a lot in my kitchen. It is a great length for cutting so many fruits and veges in dinner prep.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
dolcevita
fromohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
This knoe is just the right size and fits the hand well. For times when an utility is needed this knife cannot be beat. It is defintly a must for cooks who prepare from scratch.
My Favorite Brandcusinart, wustoff
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
2crazy4cookin
fromTulsa, OK, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Consider Wusthof to be the best brand, and out of my Wusthof knives, I consider this one to be the best! Extremely handy in the kitchen; the blade length and height are perfect!
My Favorite BrandFor knives - Wusthof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Classic Utility Knife

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
donshirl
fromMendocino, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I am more than pleased with the Utility kitchen knife. I recently lost a knife of this size and was most distressed. However, when I had a chance to use the Wusthof replacement knife I am almost glad that the other knife was lost. I am now thinking of replacing our whole set of kitchen knives with Wusthofs.
My Favorite BrandWusthof Classic
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great knife

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Vivian592
fromFrederick, MD, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
Very sharp. Feels great in your hand. High quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, Love this knife!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Paulette312
fromWestfield, WI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I already owned two Wusthof knives: the chef's knife and a santoku. I needed something a bit smaller for slicing and dicing. This knife is well-balanced, feels like an extension of my hand, and is razor sharp. I find myself reaching for it more and more often.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super knives

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer avatar
RangersFan
fromArlington, Texas
I have had a set of these knives for about 4 years and somehow the utility knife got lost so I replaced it with this one. I have been very pleased with these knives. A Cutco salesman tried to show me how his knives were better but everything they could do, so could the Wusthof and the Wusthof are prettier. They hold an edge for a long time but are easily sharpened with the sharpening rod (not sure it's called that, but you know what I mean). Like all good knives, they should be washed by hand but mine have all gone thru the DW numerous times. They are comfortable to use and very well made. These are quality knives to last a lifetime (if you don't lose them!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great knife!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Smunch
fromkilgore , tx
It is simple and sharp. Good quality. Lightweight and just a perfect multipurpose knife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer avatar
lindaburger
fromFresno, CA
I am not a great chef but am getting a few of these knives at a time in order to complete a set for my father, who is. He loves them and says these are the absolute BEST. A little pricey so I buy when they're on sale. You can't go wrong with these Wusthof Classics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knife

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Kinked
fromSaint Paul, MN
This is one of the best knifes I have owned. The Blades are excellent and the handles are well balanced. I would recommend it to anyone that is interested in starting a kitchen knife collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT KNIFE

PostedMay 15, 2009
Customer avatar
arketct
fromny ny
WELL BALANCED; USE IT ALL THE TIME--SIMILAR TO THE ONE JACQUES PEPIN USES A LOT IN HIS SHOW ON PBS..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superior Quality

PostedJanuary 20, 2009
Customer avatar
selfsustainedliving
fromsouthern illinois
I've recently purchased this knife and I must say it is perfectly balanced and razor sharp. I have thrown all my other utility knives away, all I need now is another one of these! Makes food prep a snap!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go To Knife

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Customer avatar
BitGourmetMom
fromBtown, IN
This is my favorite knife for little everyday tasks like preparing apples for snack. It fits my hand perfectly. Wusthof is simply the best product out there, in my opinion. Treated well, it will last a lifetime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse of my Kitchen

PostedNovember 16, 2007
Customer avatar
Beth
fromForest Hills, NY
While I have an array of Wusthof Classic Knives in different sizes, this one is the workhorse of my kitchen. It is great for small dicing jobs, cutting a sandwich, slicing cheese and sharp enough to cut meats and other proteins. Wusthof knives are ground to be so sharp that they hold their edges very well with proper care. When attending some professional cooking classes, the well stocked kitchens in chefs training schools are always stocked with Wusthof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Wusthof Classic 4 1/2" Utility Knife
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 of 1 recommend this product