Customer reviews for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill

CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill

CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill : Classic manual design separates seeds and skins as it purees for perfect results. CHEFS signature collection of professional-quality cookware, kitchen tools, bakeware, dinnerware and more is meticulously crafted and tested to delight the most discerning cook. CHEFS commitment to innovative, functional design is the key to delivering products of exceptional quality, performance and durability for home and professional kitchens. Product Features Made of 18/8 stainless-steel. Three interchangeable discs: fine for purees, medium for textured dishes such as applesauce, coarse for ricing potatoes, chopping nuts, or preparing tomatoes for sauces. Adjustable legs are padded for stability. Convenient handle lets you hold the mill steady while cranking. Dishwasher safe. 9 1/2"Dia. x 3 1/2"H. 2-qt. capacity Imported.
Overall rating:
3.733 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
10
42 out of 60(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Review 1 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
zephy
fromWA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I just got this mill and made Tuscan white bean soup with cannellini beans. To my amazement, this thing actually separated the bean skins from the meat. I'll admit, I cheated and didn't use roasted garlic (too much of a pain). Now, I can't wait to try it. If it doesn't separate the skins, I'll update my post, but I'm pretty sure it will.
My Favorite Brand"new favorite" de Buyer mineral b...esp. crepe pans
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Food Mill

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
BHCaple
fromMaryland
I Love this food mill...had to get the hang of it but once I did it has been a life saver.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth!

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Susieapplesauce
fromSeattle
I had no idea that I would need a food mill to make applesauce. It was recommended to me by a friend's mom (not this particular one, but just that I needed one). Purchased on Monday evening in hopes I would have it by Saturday when friends were coming over to help process all of the apples in my yard. It worked wonderfully. easy to put together, large volume, easy clean up. It is a lot of work on the arms, but I don't think that can be changed when using a food mill. Also, we are thinking about having a baby, so I know this will come in handy then too.
I have only used one of the blades, but it comes w/ 3 options, which is nice.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love this food mill!

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
CJinTX
fromEast Texas, Texas
This food mill is a great product. It is solidly made and does what it is made to do very well. It is now my favorite piece of kitchen equipment.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Silky mashed potatoes and soups!!

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Customer avatar
wouldbechef
fromFairfax, VA
This food mill is easy to use and makes the silkiest mashed potatoes and soups ever. Oh why did I wait so long to purchase one? Highly recommend it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Tomato Sauce

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
KiwiLady2
fromCharleston, SC, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This stainless-steel food mill is great for separating the parts tomato to get the most for the sauce!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy tool for canning/freezing

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBrownsburg,Indiana
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
This food mill does a great job with separating seeds and skins from the puree. This mill is much easier to assemble than my older model and is easier to clean. A handy helper in the kitchen during canning and freezing season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

stainless-steel food mill

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Blest
fromIllinois
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Great that you can put it in the dishwasher, and it does not rust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more "off" tastes!

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Soupershirl5
fromBrown County, IN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
A Stainless Steel food mill is the solution to so many unfortunate experiences with earlier Aluminum products, which are not-good with anything acidic. Having three disks to perform various tasks makes it a truly multi-functional tool..always a plus in a crowded Kitchen, such as mine! Also, ease of assembly and cleaning is a real plus. This is a good investment.
My Favorite BrandLand o Lakes Butter
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too complicated

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
CarolynNYC
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Although this looked like a handy tool to have for food preparation, I was put off by having to change the blades for different functions and snapping them in properly.
I returned it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Food Mill!!!!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromupstate New York
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
I've tried 3 food mills since my 20 year old one broke. They were all inadequate and fairly expensive. I made applesauce using this one from Chef's. It feels substantial and made quick work of 3 pounds of apples. It's perfect!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Grandnina1
fromFlorida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
High quality tool for the kitchen.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Cowboysrus
fromSaint Xavier, MT
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I had never used a ricer for mashed potatoes before and really never believed it was much of a necessity as I rather like the whole rustic lumpy potato thing; however, I thought this would be handy come apple time for applesauce and making tomato sauce when my garden comes due again. I ordered it and received it right before Christmas and didn't have a chance to use it until after the holidays. I've used it twice now for mashed potatoes and have decided, riced potatoes really are more elegant. It will be great for making lefse as well. Can't wait until canning time...oh, the many, many plans I have for you little ricer!!!
My Favorite BrandOXO
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
DittyDo
fromWyoming, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Very light weight, flimsy is a good word. The handel is held on by four spot welds one was already broken.
I never used it because it was so cheap.
My Favorite BrandDepends nothing is made well anymore
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It did the job

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
glaw70
fromKC
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I bought this to make sweet potato pie. It did the job but I think it is cheaply made. If I were in the market I would look around more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor quality

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromVermont, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
the ricer is very hard to turn the blade. The feet fall off of it. Poor design. Not as good as my granny's.
My Favorite Brandnone
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Food mill

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
crazyeagle
fromcolorado
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Stainless far better than platted steel, I really like clean up and ease of use. Fits the bill for me.
My Favorite Brandviking
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work -- still don't have a call back

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
BRae
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
This arrived with a missing piece -- I only know that by your photograph as there is no literature with it. The piece connecting the crossbar with the funnel bracket was not there; without it had to force the crossbar into the bracket -- then handle wouldn't turn. Called to ask for it, was told an engineer would call back -- over a week now and no call!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for applesauce

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Sarah499
fromPortland, ME, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I bought this after watching a video of Tina Wasserman making applesauce and latkes for Hanukah on a video. It is indeed an easy way to make top quality applesauce. I was surprised that there were no directions in the box and I had to go on the Internet to figure out how to assemble it. Also, one of the three legs keeps coming off, but it is easy to snap it back into place. Overall, a handy tool!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Food Mill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the improvement I'm looking for

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anne600
fromEndicott, NY 13760, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
The foley food mill was worn out. This food mill appeared to be a step up. The feet which position the mill over a bowl pop off readily and routinely. It also has an unstable quality while in rotation. I'm very disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>